Spend an evening honoring Hillsborough County Public Schools' top educators and support staff at the 2018 Excellence in Education Awards, presented by Suncoast Credit Union.

On January 16th 2018, the Straz Center for the Performing Arts was transformed into a winter wonderland to celebrate the nominees, finalists and winners of the Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year, Instructional Support Employee of the Year and Teacher of the Year awards. Hillsborough County Public Schools and the Hillsborough Education Foundation honored 650 outstanding educators! 

Congratulations to district Teacher of the Year Bonnie Bresnyan, a special needs teacher at Lewis Elementary School in Temple Terrace. Miriam Velez-Hernandez, a bilingual aide at Dover Elementary, was recognized as Instructional Support Employee of the Year. Social worker Christine Campbell of Van Buren Middle School received the Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year award. Superintendent Jeff Eakins congratulated all the Excellence in Education winners. A special thank you to all the current and former students that presented the finalists.

TBAE Network will be replaying the ceremony on Spectrum 635, Frontier FiOS 32 and online at WATCH.TBAE.NET on the dates below:

Thursday, January 18th at 7 PM
Saturday, January 20th at 8 PM
Sunday, January 21st at 2 PM and 8 PM

Bonnie Bresnyan, Miriam Velez-Hernandez and Christine Campbell win Excellence in Education awards